Food Sighting: Gayle’s Bakery

P1060244Aaannnnd I’m back! I’m well aware of the fact that it’s been a long time since my last post. Junior year was crazy, and I do admit that I got lazy and had other things to focus on besides blogging. Never fear, though, because I’ve got lots of new things planned and hope to post more frequently during the upcoming school year. First up, a peek into one of my foodie-related adventures this summer at the renowned Gayle’s Bakery in Capitola, Calif. 

P1060212As I’m sure anyone who’s currently in school or has been in school can relate, I’ve come face-to-face with the brutal reality that summer break is dwindling and school will begin in just four short days.

It’s easy to say, “If I just had one more week of summer, then I’d be ready for school to start.” But then I remind myself of the importance of just living in the moment and being content right where I am. I should appreciate for the fun times spent with friends, the memories made, and the days I got the privilege of sleeping in. The break blessed me with time to relax and rejuvenate before I enter the daunting college application season.

With that in mind, food always plays a quintessential part in my summer, not just because it brings people together but for the way it captures the flavors and spirit of the season.

My family stops by Gayle’s Bakery in Capitola, Calif. when we’re in the Santa Cruz area. I absolutely adore the shop’s ambiance because it provides a space for people of all types — the coffee-drinking and newspaper-reading customers who lounge by the large windows, the tourists who gaze in awe at the case of buttery pastries, the parent whose child needs a quick bite after school, and everyone in between.

P1060235 - Edited

We typically visit Gayle’s in the early morning to purchase bread and pastries for half price from the  day-old rack. Having opened in 1978, the bakery is a local favorite as well as a popular tourist spot. They have a numbered ticket system to serve customers as quickly as possible during busy hours. While Gayle’s certainly isn’t what I’d call “cheap,” you can definitely taste the quality in all of their food.

P1060238

Gayle’s Bakery provides an extensive prepared food section with the ideal goods for a picnic lunch on the beach. For special occasions, they have impressive cakes decorated with rich frostings and colorful fruits. The everyday draws, however, are the loaves of freshly baked bread and rolls. I particularly enjoy the herbed cheese rolls and the basic white sandwich bread — I figure that if I’m going to treat myself to highly refined “white” carbohydrates, they better be quality.

P1060226

P1060239

P1060242

Next time you visit the beaches in Santa Cruz, make sure to visit Gayle’s. You won’t be disappointed by this lovely little bakery.

Thanks for reading!

—Bethany

Leave a Reply

