Marcy’s Jewish Almond Cookies

P1050648

Believe it or not, we’re on the verge of entering a new year. It’s crazy to think that 2014 has zoomed by and in just a few hours, when I write the date I’ll have to scribble “5” on top of the “4” I’ve grown used to. It’s a struggle until February when 2014 starts to feel like the long-lost past.

Can you tell that this was supposed to be a Christmas cookie post? Okay, sorry, I am most definitely late to the (cookie recipe exchange) party.

P1050639

Nonetheless, if you’re having a major freak-out right now about what you’re bringing to the upcoming New Year’s Eve party tonight, I’ve got you covered. These cookies might have been perfectly timed for Christmas, but with their dusting of snowy powdered sugar and fragile almond bits in the middle, you can enjoy them at any moment of the year.

Whip up these almond cookies! I’m calling them Marcy’s because this recipe was shared by a friend of my mom (Marcy) who received the recipe from her Jewish grandmother.

Now, I’m not Jewish, and I haven’t yet had the pleasure of tasting much Jewish food. However, I have tried Marcy’s Grandma Ford’s Jewish cookies.  I can assure you that they are worth making, and you better pull out a mixing bowl right now.

These cookies are:

Soft

Delicate

Lightly sweetened

Nutty

Full of almond-ey goodness

Melt-in-your-mouth deliciousness

Without further ado, here’s the recipe for you to whip up before ringing in the new year.

Marcy’s Grandma Ford’s Jewish Almond Cookies

Makes 32 cookies

1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened at room temperature
2 cups all purpose flour, sifted (I never sift my flour, but you can if you wish) 
1/4 lb ground almonds (For me this was about 1/4 cup of whole almonds. I used a scale to measure out my whole almonds. You can also substitute 1/4 almond meal for a slightly finer consistency) 
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 tsp almond extract (Marcy always puts a little more)
Powdered sugar for rolling
Method

Preheat oven to 275 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or use a silicon baking mat. Set aside cookie sheet for later use. 

Cream together butter and sugar in a mixing bowl. Add flour and ground almonds. Add salt. Mix well. Mix in almond extract. 

At this point, you will have a white, almond-flecked “dough.” It will be buttery, but do your best to knead it together with your hands until it forms a ball. 

Pinch off teaspoon sized balls of cookie dough. With your hands, roll it into a 2-3″ “log.” Pinch the ends to form a crescent shape. Repeat for remaining dough. Place cookies 3/4″ apart. 

Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown on the edges (or a little toastier if you like a crisper cookie). Remove cookie sheet from oven and allow cookies to cool for 5 minutes. While still warm, carefully roll the cookies in a bowl of powdered sugar. Place cookies on a cooling rack. 

Gather your loved ones and cuddle up on the couch with these cookies, a cup of tea/coffee/warm milk/hot chocolate/etc as you get ready for 2015.

And since it’s the new year, you might as well make a few New Year’s Resolutions, so you have a few goals to motivate you to challenge yourself.

As a blogger, my goals for 2014 5 are to post more frequently (at least twice a month), to explore more wholesome food for meals rather than just desserts (much as I enjoy indulging my sweet tooth), to experiment with refined sugar free recipes using natural sweeteners, and to improve my food photography skills.

Looking at today’s date and the notification I just received from WordPress, today marks the day after my one year anniversary as a WordPress blogger. If you have ever read one of my posts, clicked the “like” button, left a comment, or tried one of the recipes I’ve written about, thank you from the bottom of my heart!

Cheers to 2015! I hope you will continue this journey with me! 

~Bethany

Leave a Reply

