From the Mixed Up Manila Folder

“Happiness is excitement that has found a settling down place, but there is always a little corner that keeps flapping around.” -E.L. Konigsburg, From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

This quote reminds me to never stop getting excited about learning new things and to keep that sense of childhood curiosity alive. Food for thought.

 P1040692

From the Mixed Up Files was one of my favorite childhood novels. If you haven’t read it, you should because it’s just a classic story of a kid wanting to run away and explore. Even better since the main character runs away to Manhattan’s Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Anyways, the reason I even brought up this book that my mom first read to me when I was a wee little first grader is because it is the namesake of my newest series.

We have this beaten up manila folder that has most likely been sitting on the shelf accumulating dust for at least ten years. In it my mom has collected many recipe clips from USA Weekend publications, the recipes from the Food & Wine section of our local newspaper, random expired coupons and a stockpile of past cookie exchange recipes she’s received.

P1040703Judging by this picture, I think you can tell that this is a rather disorganized, all-over-the-place way to store recipes.

However, after three hours, I managed to place the multitude of papers into stacks that roughly placed them into categories. Soups. Salads. Breakfast Goodies. Let Them Eat Cakes. Cookie Mania. And there was a rather large section for Miscellaneous.

I figured that since Back to School Sales are coming up in the next few weeks, I might as well use our unopened packs of clear plastic sheet protectors.

And the final product was no longer a manila folder but a much more organized binder.

P1040773P1040777

I guess you could call this a procrastinated version of spring cleaning that actually takes place in the summer.

Now that it’s all organized, I can actually find all the recipes I want to try instead of getting swamped by yellowing newspaper and making a mess.

Whenever I feel like doing another post about a recipe once found in the folder, I’ll mark it as part of the From the Mixed Up Manila Folder series. FMUMF for short since that’s a unpronounceable acronym of a palindrome.

Stay tuned for the first recipe!

By the way, happy Independence Day to all my fellow Americans and happy Friday to everyone else!

 

2 thoughts on “From the Mixed Up Manila Folder

  1. Pingback: summer pasta salad | Bethany Creates

  2. Pingback: oil-free granola | Bethany Creates

Leave a Reply

