Travel Recovery Food: Pancakes

You might have noticed that I haven’t blogged for about two weeks. Well, let me tell you, those two weeks were a much needed time to relax. I sailed to Alaska on a cruise ship and got to enjoy fine dining for nearly every meal. The food was most definitely one of the main attractions. It was a nice change to experience cooler weather in Alaska while at home the weather makes me feel like I’m always walking through a heat cloud.

cruise at night
The Star Princess in the port of Victoria, British Columbia

Out on the open sea, we devoured a plethora of food that was almost too picturesque to eat.

 The average cruise passenger eats three times the amount of food they eat normally.
Key lime pie never looked so good
Tempura and sushi rolled into one

As a little bit of trivia, the average cruise passenger eats three times the amount of food they eat at home. I actually believe it! Don’t get me wrong, cruises offer food 24/7 with their extensive buffets and everything is perfectly plated in fine dining. After 11 days of cruise fare, however, I started craving homey comfort food that wasn’t laden with deep fried oiliness, half the salt shaker or sludgy heavy cream. When I got home, I just couldn’t stomach anything like the buttery french toast or the rich almond croissants I’d consumed daily on the ship. One of the first breakfasts I made were my family’s go-to recipe, Fannie Farmer’s Griddlecakes. We love how these pancakes come out perfectly each time and don’t require any fancy ingredients like buttermilk.

I promise that these are literally foolproof and the best part is that they are easily embellished with blueberries, bananas, chocolate chips or whatever add-ins you love! P1040763

Fannie’s Foolproof Pancakes

My family was lucky to get hold of this recipe through a cooking class that my sister attended that took place in a neighbor’s house. This recipe comes not from my great aunt or someone but from Fannie Farmer, an old-fashioned cooking expert. 

2 cups flour (all purpose, bread flour, white wheat flour or a mixture)

1/4 cup sugar 1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 tablespoon baking powder 1 egg 2 cups milk

1 1/2 tablespoons melted butter/vegetable oil

Combine dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, beat egg and add milk. Add wet mixture to dry ingredients. Whisk together. Add butter or oil. Drop 1/3-1/2 cup batter into a greased, hot medium sized frying pan. Flip pancakes when puffed and full of bubbles, cooking about 1-2 minutes on each side.

 

3 thoughts on “Travel Recovery Food: Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Three Good Eats (#2) | Bethany Creates

Leave a Reply

