Classy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Weirdo me prefers my chocolate chip cookies minus the chocolate chips.

It must be because I like the rich, smooth cookie base but the semisweet chocolate coats my tongue.

So I asked myself, “Is it possibly to make a classic cookie classy?”

P1040023

Well, I think yes. And guess, what? This recipe is just a bit healthier without compromising buttery, crunchy goodness.  I use vegetable oil, an unsaturated fat source, and oatmeal for added fiber. Classy and lighter. A win-win.

By no means are these cookies a health food. They are still a treat…just a little less heavy.

I finally decided that I need to start experimenting with my own recipes. It’s fun and all to adapt other people’s recipes, but a unique sense of ownership comes from making up your recipe from scratch.

P1040021

Welcome to my first original recipe.

The magic ratio for the standard 2 dozen cookie recipe, according to Baker Bettie:

  1. 1/2 cup fat (butter, oil)
  2. 1 cup sweetener
  3. 3/4-1 1/2 cups flour 
  4. 1/4-1/2 teaspoon salt (this is essential)
  5. 1 egg (binder)
  6. 1 tsp baking soda/baking powder (leavening agents)
  7. Liquid flavorings (1 teaspoon)
  8. Fun add-ins (chocolate chips, coconut, candy, nuts)

Classy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes 60 cookies

8 tablespoons (1 stick) softened butter

1 1/2 cups vegetable oil

2 cups brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

4 eggs

3 teaspoons vanilla extract

3 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 cups chocolate chips (optional)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a medium sized mixing bowl, cream butter and add oil. Add sugar and mix together well.
  3. Beat in eggs and vanilla extract
  4. Combine dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Add all at once to wet ingredients and stir.
  5. Fold in chocolate chips.
  6. On a baking sheet, drop by tablespoons onto an ungreased cookie sheet.
  7. Bake 10-12 minutes until edges are golden brown.
  8. Remove from oven and allow to cool for five minutes. Transfer to a cooling rack.

I hope you all enjoy these cookies with a tall glass of milk! Comment below to tell me how they turn out.

P1040026

Bethany

P.S. I donated 50 of my cookies to the Ronald McDonald House for pediatric cancer patients located in my hometown. I hope these cookies brought smiles to their faces!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

