Lemon Meringue Pie for Pi Day

I’m sorry that this post is a little bit off time-wise, but the recipe yielded such great results that I had to share.

So Friday (3-14) was Pi Day. I mean, you don’t make cookies for Pi Day to celebrate an everlasting number. You have to make a food that will (hopefully) turn out perfectly round. Of course, I’m talking about pie.

P1030880

My most vivid memory of Pi Day transports us all the way back to 7th grade. Besides playing a song on the guitar to ingrain the quadratic formula into our minds and (frequently) banging a brick to get the rowdy class’s attention, I remember this teacher for his obsession with pi (this teacher had the numbers taped circling his classroom) and the way the class got to eat three pies on Pi Day. That was a good day.

P1030881

So I made some Lemon Meringue Pie. It ended up being much more time consuming than I thought and I recruited the help of my sister to whip the cloudy meringue while I battled with thick lemon curd. A lot of work but oh so worth it.

P1030870

Lemon Meringue is the perfect any-time-of-the-year pie because there always seems to be lemons and sugar around. Well, let’s just say I have a perennial supply of lemons by “borrowing” Meyer lemons from my neighbors.

Image

Try it out for yourself! The original recipe received rave reviews on allrecipes.

Before

P1030873

After

:P1030876

My adaptations/tips:

  • Add 1/2 cream of tartar to your egg whites while whipping the meringue. This keeps the meringue nice and stiff.
  • Add only 3/4 cup of sugar to the lemon curd if you like your pie a little tart.
  • Add 1 1/2 tsp more corn starch to make sure your lemon curd layer gels and doesn’t become a lemon soup.
  • To “healthify,” leave out the butter. I found that the butter did not make any difference in the gelling properties of the curd.
  • Allow to cool on a rack, then chill overnight (if possible)

Enjoy!

Bethany

(P.S. I can’t wait until Pi Day next year when the date is 3/14/15)

2 thoughts on “Lemon Meringue Pie for Pi Day

  1. Pingback: Three Good Eats (#2) | Bethany Creates

Leave a Reply

