Super Simple Sourdough Starter

Recipe Review: 3.5/5 stars

I’m trying my hand at making a sourdough starter. 


My family doesn’t have a pet, so we decided to name our starter “Bobby.” 



I’ve never made sourdough before, but it sounded like an exciting adventure. After all, I love love love artisan bread fresh out of the oven. With a little smear of butter. 

Day 1 

I washed out an old nut container from Costco and mixed equal parts all-purpose flour and filtered water.



As you can see from the first picture, I placed Bobby the Sourdough Starter on top of my fridge. Unfortunately, Bobby decided to free fall  whenever anyone opened the fridge or freezer door, so we moved the jar into the oven for a constant temperature. 

24ish hours later….


Day 2

Bobby has begun to bubble and bloom (is that what a yeast does?). It has captured the wild yeast in the air. 


I repeat the steps from the first day by adding equal parts flour and water. I really wanted this to work (and was a little nervous that it might flop), so I added a little active yeast. Just a pinch. 


Day 3 (out of 5)


I guess that little extra insurance with the pinch of yeast helped.

Bobby keeps growing and looking more “pillowy.” 

You guessed it! I added 1/2 a cup of flour, 1/2 a cup of water, and mixed it all up with a chopstick. 



Day 4

Same ol’ drill.


Day 5

I didn’t take a photo of the starter on these two days. However, the starter just kept bubbling, growing more sour smelling, and swelling into a manifestation of a living yeast. 

I was able to make some delicious, crusty sourdough bread with the help of some family members. 

The dough was a little sticky (which may mean Bobby’s consistency can be a little bit drier) but the bread turned out well!


A tad bit lopsided

Fluffy, crunchy, soft sourdough.


Mission accomplished. 



If you want to try it out yourself, check out the full instructions at http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-basic-sourdough-starter-47337

The beginner sourdough bread recipe is here: 









One thought on “Super Simple Sourdough Starter

  1. Pingback: Food Sighting: Arcangeli Grocery Co. | Bethany Creates

Leave a Reply

